— NEW RELEASE— ALMA from Fire & Grace

Over the last year in the redwoods of Bonny Doon, Fire & Grace found a way to record our third album, Alma. We rehearsed in the fairy rings amongst ancient trees, and we performed in our backyards for small audiences of friends and music lovers. It was a year of finding any and all ways to continue to make music. Out of the ashes of the west coast fires and a global pandemic, we discovered so much incredible music, folk and baroque compositions that we love, and we’re excited to share it with you. This collection of pieces includes music from Argentina, Spain, Italy, Germany, and Sweden. We hope you enjoy.

Libertango is a popular tango by the great Astor Piazolla. On our first recording we offered his composition Oblivion and we have loved performing it for years. Another tango was a no-brainer for us, and in concert we often perform them together.

In the classical guitar world, Asturias is a mountain that many artists endeavor to climb. Originally for solo piano, this piece is magic in the hands of a virtuoso classical guitarist. Our arrangement seeks to bring to life the fire and grace found in the rhythms and melodies, and broaden the range of expression by giving the violin the chance to shred!

On our first CD Fire & Grace offered Winter from the Four Seasons by Vivaldi. Here we present another season in our arrangement of Summer.  

Suite Español continues our journey of arranging the solo music of Bach and blending it with folk music old and new. This suite presents the six movements of the first Cello Suite by JS Bach, arranged for violin with guitar accompaniment. In between each movement of the Suite we offer a melody from Spain. We begin with the Prelude, followed by Mendiokerra, a traditional tune from the Basque region that we learned from Irish flute and whistle wizard Brian Finnegan. We return to Bach for the Allemande and then to Ay Linda Amiga, a 16th century anonymous madrigal. The title translates as My Beautiful Friend. Back to Bach for the Courante and then to Nana which is one of the songs from Siete Canciones Populares Españolas by Manuel De Falla which he composed in 1916. Originally for soprano and piano, this collection is one of the composer’s most popular works, and this song one of the saddest that we have heard. Following is the Sarabande and then on to Malagueña. There are as many versions of this popular Spanish melody as there are people who play it. Well known as a beginning classical guitar piece, our arrangement pulls from various arrangements we have heard over many years. We return to Bach for the Menuet 1 & 2 and then on Muñiera de Chantada, a very well known traditional Galician tune in 6/8 time signature, a Galician jig if you will. This version comes from the recording by the Galician supergroup Milladoiro. Following the ‘Galician jig’ we offer the Gigue by Bach. And finally a new composition from the Galician musician Anxo Pintos called Canro Cru.

Fire & Grace are huge fans of the music of Vasen. We finish this recording with the lovely Tanya’s Tune composed by Roger Talroth, former guitarist of Vasen. ​

separator image

Making Alma was a joy. Here’s a clip from our recording session:


1. Libertango (Astor Piazolla)
2. Asturias (Isaac Albeniz)
L’Estate – Summer (Antonio Vivaldi)
3. Allegro non molto
4. Adagio e piano
5. Presto
Suite Español
6. Prelude (JS Bach)
7. Mendiokerra (Traditional Basque)
8. Allemande (JS Bach)
9. Ay Linda Amiga
(Traditional Spanish 16th Century Madrigal)
10. Courante (JS Bach)
11. Nana
(Traditional Spanish / Manuel De Falla)
12. Sarabande (JS Bach)
13. Malagueña (Traditional Spanish)
14. Menuet 1 and 2 (JS Bach)
15. Muñeira de Chantada (Traditional Galician)
16. Gigue (JS Bach)
17. Cancro Crú (Anxo Pintos)
18. Tanya’s Tune (Roger Talroth)
separator image

Partita Americana CD

  1. Prelude
  2. Lonesome Fiddle Blues
  3. Louree
  4. Red Prairie Dawn
  5. Gavotte & Rondeau
  6. While We’re Here
  7. Minuet 1 & 2
  8. Lonesome Moonlight Waltz
  9. Bouree
  10. Evil Diane
  11. Gigue
  12. Orange Blossom Special
  13. Waltz of the Little Girls
  14. Two Trees
  15. Blue Thrash-Cluck Old Hen/Farewell to Long Hollow/Glory in the Meeting House
  16. Unless
  17. Ashokan Farewell
separator image

The eponymous CD

Fire and Grace Album Cover
1 – Prelude from Cello Suite #1
Liquid Gold Suite
2 – Allemande – from Partita #2
3 – Marga’s Moment
4 – Courante
5 – The Honeybee Jig
6 – Sarabande
7 – The Quarter Inch Wick
8 – Gigue
9 – MacLeod’s Farewell
Music from Riverdance
10 – Riverdance Jig
11 – Excerpt from Corona
12 – Chronos
13 – Reel Around the Sun
Winter – L’inverno – from the Four Seasons
14 – Allegro non Molto
15 – Largo
16 – Allegro
Three Bulgarian Tunes
17 – Kopanitsa
18 – Polognala e Todora
19 – Kopanitsa
20 – Oblivion
separator image

Coming back to life in person!

Hello friends and fans far and wide! It’s May 2021 and it feels like we are coming back to life! Fire & Grace had our first in person, indoor concert last week and it was an amazing experience! It was a lovely private concert in Pebble Beach and the enthusiasm from us and from a hungry for live music audience was just incredible. We are adding a few more concerts this summer and will let you know as they get confirmed

And we are incredibly excited to announce that we will be releasing a new CD! We don’t have a name for it just yet, but the recording will feature our signature blend of folk and Baroque and will include Summer by Vivaldi, Libertango by Piazzola, Asturias by Albeniz, Tanya’s Tune by Roger Talroth from Vasen,  and, our latest epic Bach folk blending in the form of a 30 minute suite featuring the six movements of the first cello suite by Bach and six gorgeous melodies from various parts of Spain!

We will share some excerpts both audio and video when we have them so stay tuned!

Can’t wait to play for you all soon!